Imperium Galactum

Talk about everything related to general reverse engineering of computer games!

Moderator: Kroah

Imperium Galactum

Postby jaybird3rd » 05 Dec 2013, 21:27

Hello, Kroah:

First of all, thanks for setting up this Web site and forum! I'm impressed at the number of games you've reverse-engineered, and as someone who has been playing many of them (on the Atari 800) for years, I'm looking forward to getting to know them even better now by studying the code!

I was reading through this forum thread on AtariAge from about a year ago ...

http://atariage.com/forums/topic/200885-need-info-about-the-abc-basic-compiler-from-monarch-data-systems/

... and you mentioned that you were working at the time on reverse-engineering Imperium Galactum for the Atari 800. By any chance, did you ever complete your work on this title? I'm a homebrew developer who is interested in creating a version of Imperium Galactum for another platform, and I'd be very interested to see your decompiled code for this title, if you have it.

Thanks again for your consideration!
jaybird3rd

Re: Imperium Galactum

Postby Kroah » 15 Dec 2013, 02:52

Hello Jaybird,

First of all, thanks for setting up this Web site and forum! I'm impressed at the number of games you've reverse-engineered, and as someone who has been playing many of them (on the Atari 800) for years, I'm looking forward to getting to know them even better now by studying the code!

Thanks for your kind words. I see you have grown up an Atari in the hands, with the tools we have today, it's really easy to dig in the asm code to understand the inner working of the games.

... and you mentioned that you were working at the time on reverse-engineering Imperium Galactum for the Atari 800. By any chance, did you ever complete your work on this title?

Imperium Galactum is not an easy task. Like you have read on Atariage, this game is compiled with the ABC compiler.