Strange problem at startup (mod: thread split)

Talk about everything related to CoCoNet or Colonial Conquest!

Moderator: Kroah

Strange problem at startup (mod: thread split)

Postby pryland » 03 Jul 2012, 18:49

Windows 7 64bit.
When I try to load a saved game, I can not select my player.
The chat window is large and only 1 line of the Players is visible.

Have tried resizing the big window with no success. the chat window stays large.

It worked once correctly, but then no more.
have tried to enable and disable direct 3d.

going to try and remove/change the config file to see if it is a window size problem.

unable to see/attach log files and/or save files.
they do not list in directory.

also seems the naval engagements do not kill off all of the ships, i thought in a naval launched attack , the army could not attack until all of the defending navy was destroyed. I am getting army battles , and after a successful defense still see navy ships located there. The army is definitely attacking, i have losses. This will occur whether i unsuccessfully attack or successfully defend.
Attachments
Config.xml
(54 Bytes) Downloaded 53 times
pryland
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Jul 2012, 18:38

Re: 1.0.0 curiositys / bugs

Postby cr1x » 03 Jul 2012, 19:18

I also use Windows 7 64 but and I have experienced the same problem you are describing when trying to load a saved game. As I understand it, in my case, this is because I had customised some of the settings in the map.xml prior to playing.

For me, on standard settings saved games load fine. Have you been customising any of the settings?
cr1x
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 14 Jul 2010, 00:12

Re: 1.0.0 curiositys / bugs

Postby pryland » 03 Jul 2012, 19:32

I believe the only thing I have done was to resize the coco window while running the game.
pryland
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Jul 2012, 18:38

Re: 1.0.0 curiositys / bugs

Postby Kroah » 03 Jul 2012, 19:36

It seems you don't have the rights to write to the directories, you should have at least a file named something like "*GraphicsAdapter.log" in the "Logs" folder.
Your "config.xml" should contains some new tags that CoCoNet adds if missing => it's empty, this means CoCoNet can't write to it (or writes somewhere else).

Are you administrator of your machine ?
Can you try to run it "as administrator" ?

Edit: Or maybe CoCoNet can't find its root folder (i can't test it, i don't have a Windows 7 machine right now).
Kroah
Site Admin
 
Posts: 412
Joined: 07 Feb 2006, 01:01
Location: France

Re: 1.0.0 curiositys / bugs

Postby pryland » 03 Jul 2012, 19:57

Took ownership of the coco folder and is working fine.
Thanks for the heads up.
pryland
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Jul 2012, 18:38

Re: 1.0.0 curiositys / bugs

Postby Kroah » 03 Jul 2012, 20:25

pryland wrote:Took ownership of the coco folder and is working fine.
Thanks for the heads up.

Thanks for the report.

If i can have a hand on a Windows 7 system, i could add a warning if CoCoNet doesn't have enough rights.
Like it is, CoCoNet should at least crash, and not let the user think CoCoNet is running "correctly".
I'm even surprised it runs without raising an exception...
Kroah
Site Admin
 
Posts: 412
Joined: 07 Feb 2006, 01:01
Location: France

Re: Strange problem at startup (mod: thread split)

Postby pryland » 03 Jul 2012, 20:51

When I ran the setup, i did a regular run instead of run as admin.
It installed with System ownership.
so the log and save files were superhidden.

Thanks for the hard work. Enjoy the game.
pryland
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 03 Jul 2012, 18:38


Return to CoCoNet Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron