CoC on Mac?

Talk about everything related to CoCoNet or Colonial Conquest!

Moderator: Kroah

CoC on Mac?

Postby Mattias H » 25 Dec 2013, 18:02

Ho ho ho

Merry christmas to you all.

Back in my youth I used to run this game with my friends a lot band I know they would be interested in having a nostalgic evening every now and then playing the game yet again.

The thing is I'm a Mac user. When I download the client.. well let's just say it does not end well.

Is there a way making it work on a Mac?

Best regards. /Mattias from Sweden
Mattias H
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 25 Dec 2013, 17:57

Re: CoC on Mac?

Postby Kroah » 05 Jan 2014, 22:35

Actually, CoCoNet is highly reliant on 2 Microsoft technologies: the Dot Net framework 3.5 (network communication, WinForms) and the XNA framework.
Those choices were based on my own knowledge (languages, IDE, ...) and the ease of use.
Learning C++ and SDL (with network and opengl) would have been too much time consuming (SDL .Net wasn't an option few years ago).

So, to answer you, i don't think there's an easy way (if at all) to make it work on Mac.
I don't know if Wine (or another Windows emulator) exists on Mac (CoCoNet is able to run without 3D card via GDI+ in a virtual PC for example).

Maybe someone else using Mac could give us more information ?
Kroah
Site Admin
 
Posts: 412
Joined: 07 Feb 2006, 01:01
Location: France


Return to CoCoNet Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron